Morocco's borders to reopen on June 15

Par ediallo - 7 June, 2021 - 08:09

Travel restrictions to Morocco related to the Covid-19 pandemic will be gradually lifted from June 15, with two separate lists - the first including the European Union among others, whose tourist passengers will have to have a vaccination certificate and/or a negative PCR test result dating back less than 48 hours.

Closed since early March following the discovery of the British variant in the Kingdom (the list of countries to and from which flights were suspended included up to 40 countries including France, Belgium and Switzerland), Moroccan borders are reopening to regular air traffic.

"Based on the positive indicators of the epidemiological situation in the Kingdom of Morocco and the decrease in the number of cases of infection with the new coronavirus, especially after the expansion of vaccination campaigns in our country.

The Moroccan authorities have taken new progressive measures to ease the restrictions on travelers wishing to access the national territory," summarizes a statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs published Sunday.

From June 15, 2021, this gradual reopening of arrivals in Morocco's airports is organized in two lists:

List A counts "all countries with positive indicators" including those of the European Union: travelers will have to present a vaccination certificate and/or a negative PCR test result passed less than 48 hours before takeoff.

This applies whether they are Moroccan nationals, foreigners established in Morocco, or citizens of these countries or foreigners residing there.

Holders of foreign vaccination certificates "will benefit from the same advantages granted by the Moroccan vaccination certificate to Moroccan citizens on the national territory".

It should be noted that France in particular has placed Morocco on its own amber list; vaccinated persons will be able to come upon presentation of a 72-hour PCR or antigenic test less than 48 hours old; non-vaccinated persons will need a compelling reason, and a seven-day self-isolation will be required.

List B includes the remaining 74 countries with "spread of variants or lack of accurate statistics on the epidemiological situation": passengers will need to have received "exceptional clearance", present a negative PCR test of less than 48 hours, and will be subject to a 10-day isolation upon arrival.

Colombia, Congo, Cuba, Eswatini, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Latvia, Liberia, North Korea, United Arab Emirates, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Central African Republic, Uganda, DRC, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

These two lists will be updated "regularly at least twice a month as needed," the Foreign Ministry said yesterday.

Repatriations by sea of Moroccan residents abroad, as part of the "Marhaba 2021" operation, will also resume on June 15 from the ports of Sete and Genoa, with a negative PCR test before boarding; a second test will be taken during the crossing.

Morocco had already relaxed travel requirements on domestic routes, and launched its own vaccine passport for travel abroad. More than 9 million of the Kingdom's 36 million inhabitants have already received a first injection of the vaccine, and more than 5.8 million have received both injections.

François Duclos